top of page

University of Vermont Hosts the Last Tournament of the 2018-19 Season

Tara Sarathi

Tournament Committee Co-Chair

April 7, 2019 (Burlington, VT) -

On April 7th, the University of Vermont hosted the fifth and final Eastern Collegiate Taekwondo Conference (ECTC) tournament of the 2018-2019 season. This tournament had 18 schools in attendance with 250 competitors. Each athlete competed hard and gave it their all throughout the day, especially the athletes whom this was their last ECTC Tournament ever.

After Opening Ceremonies, the competition started off with Poomsae. The following athletes medaled in their respective Poomsae Divisions:

UVM Poomsae.PNG

As the Poomsae Divisions were drawing to a close, the sparring division started to ramp up. After a fierce day of fighting and several intense matches, the following teams medaled:

uvm a team.PNG
uvm b team.PNG
uvm c team.PNG

At the end of the day, in Division 1, the United States Military Academy took first place with 469 points, while Cornell took a very close second place with 459 points. MIT took third with 342 points. In Division 2, Rutgers took first place with 104 points, University of Michigan took second with 97 points, and Northeastern took third place with 87 points. In Division 3, Yale University took first place with 64 points, University of Vermont placed second with 32 points, and RIT took third with 30 points.

For the League Results, Cornell University took home the ECTC League Cup by dominating the season with a total of 2580 points. West Point placed second with 1734 points, and MIT took third with 1513 points.

In addition,  End-of-Season Awards are awarded at this tournament to outstanding individuals in the League. This year, the Male and Female MVP Awards were given to Joseph Nechleba (Cornell) and Marine-Ayan Ibrahim Aibo (Cornell). The Student Leader Award, which is awarded to the student who has shown outstanding leadership both on and off the mat, was awarded to Catherine Zhao (Columbia). The Tournament Committee Member of the Year Male and Female awards were given to Aaron Sampson (MIT, UCSD) and Noriko Aizawa (Tufts). Finally, the Male and Female Referee of the Year awards were given to Rachel Seigel and Simon Blais.

Full tournament results can be found here:

bottom of page